China covers a land area of 9.6 million square kilometers and currently consists of four municipalities (Beijing, Shanghai, Tianjin and Chongqing), 23 provinces, five autonomous regions (Tibet, Xinjiang, Inner Mongolia, Ningxia, and Guangxi) directly under the Central Government, and two special administrative regions (Hong Kong and Macau).

Shanghai is the most renowned commercial and industrial city and the international metropolis in China. Shanghai is also the economic, transportation, science and technology, industrial, financial, trading, exhibition and shipping center in the country. The GDP generated from Shanghai topped the cities in China. Currently Shanghai is striving hard to achieve its goals as international economic center, international financial center, international shipping center and international trading center by 2020. As of 2016, the population of Shanghai stood at approximately 24,197,000. Shanghai covers a land area of 6,340.5 square kilometer, comprising 16 districts.

Weather

China spans over a vast geographic area. Local weather varies considerably from one location to another. Latest weather information of different regions can be found at the website of China Meteorological Administration:
http://www.cma.gov.cn/en/

Shanghai is located in warm temperate zone which is characterized by the northern subtropical monsoon climate. Each of the four seasons also carries distinct features, with sufficient sunlight and rainfall. The weather is mild and humid. Spring and fall are short while summer and winter are relatively long. The coldest month is January, with temperature averaging 4.9℃, and generally July is the hottest month, with temperature averaging 30.9℃. Precipitations from June to September account for 60% of the annual precipitations.

Currency

China's official currency is Renminbi (RMB), commonly known as Yuan. Paper bill includes 1, 5, 10, 20, 50, 100 Yuan and 1, 2, 5 Jiao, and coins include 1, 5 Jiao and 1 Yuan. Currency exchange service is available at Shanghai Pudong International Airport, Shanghai Hongqiao International Airport, banks and major hotels.

Besides cash, banking service is also available for Hong Kong residents living in China. In general, a mobile phone which can receive messages in the Mainland as well as basic documents which include, but not limited to the following, are required for opening bank accounts:

  1. Identification Document, e.g. passport, Mainland Travel Permit for Hong Kong and Macao resident (commonly known as "Home Visit Permit")
  2. Statement with residential address

Please check with specific banks for detailed application process and related information if necessary.

Voltage

As with most other countries, China adopts the metric measurement system. Household voltage is 220 volts in the Mainland. No voltage conversion is needed if travelers want to use electrical appliance purchased from Hong Kong. However, the power plug is different from those commonly used in Hong Kong and thus a plug adapter may be required. The typical shapes of power plugs in the Mainland are shown in the pictures below.

3-legged power plug in China 2-legged power plug in China

Transportation

Overview

All automotive vehicles, non-automotive vehicles and pedestrians should keep to the right side of the road in the Mainland, which differs from the practice of keeping to the left in Hong Kong.

Besides, the traffic rules also differ. In the Mainland, vehicles may take right turn even if the red light is on, but this would only be applicable where no disturbance is made to cars or pedestrians passing by (however, if the red light signaling right turn is an arrow instead of a round shape, vehicles would be prohibited from taking the right turn until the light turns green). In Hong Kong, on the other hand, no vehicles may take the right turn whenever the red light is on.

Pedestrians and drivers of automotive vehicles and non-automotive vehicles should observe all traffic rules applicable in the Mainland.

Public Transportation in Shanghai

Subway

Currently, there are 15 subway lines operating in Shanghai. All lines adopt a variable fare charge depending on the distance traveled, that is, 3 RMB per trip for distance traveled of 0-6km (inclusive of 6km), 4 RMB per trip for distance traveled of 6-16km (inclusive of 16km), and 1 RMB more for every 10 km further.

For further information, please refer to the website of Shanghai Shentong Metro Group Corporation Limited:
http://www.shmetro.com

There is also a magnetic levitation train line connecting the Shanghai Pudong International Airport and Longyang Road Metro Station, which is the first magnetic levitation train line that is put into operation. The total length of the line is 30.5km. The line adopts a flat fare rate of 50 RMB.

For further information, please refer to the website of Shanghai Municipal Transportation Commission:
http://www.jt.sh.cn/jtw/bmcx/index.html

Taxi

Taxi stands are often found in public areas such as hotels, business centers, hospitals and residential quarters. Passengers may also book taxis over the phone or through the internet.

Shanghai taxies implement a unified fare charge policy, i.e. RMB 14 for the first 3 kilometers and RMB 2.5 per kilometer thereafter. There are also surcharges to the fare, namely low-speed surcharge, tarry fee, night charge and appointment fee etc.

For detailed information, please refer to please refer to the website of Shanghai Municipal Transportation Commission:
http://www.jt.sh.cn/jtw/bmcx/index.html

E-hailing Service

In recent years, E-hailing service is very popular in the Mainland. Passengers can hail for service on the spot or make prior appointments with drivers of private cars and taxies for transportation service on the web. Further details are available from common search engines on the internet.

Buses

Shanghai has a bus network that basically covers the whole city. Normal buses and air-conditioned buses maintain a standard fare with respect to the length of distance traveled. For normal buses, the charge is 1 RMB per trip for distance traveled within 13km and 1.5 RMB per trip for distance travelled more than 13km. For air-conditioned buses, the charge is 2 RMB per trip. For suburban buses, the starting fare is 1 RMB per trip and 50 cents more for each extra standard distance traveled for normal buses and 1 RMB more for each extra standard distance traveled for air conditioned buses. For detailed information, please refer to please refer to the website of Shanghai Municipal Transportation Commission:
http://www.jt.sh.cn/jtw/bmcx/index.html

Other bus services include:

Bike-sharing

In recent years, bike-sharing service is very popular in the Mainland. In general, users of different bike rental companies must pay certain amount of deposit before using the service. However, some e-shopping platforms provide deposit-free bike rental service. Further details are available from common search engines on the internet.

Railway

Shanghai is the largest transportation hub for railway within the eastern costal region and Yangtze river delta area. The city is well connected to many mainland cities including Anhui, Jiangsu, Zhejiang, Fujian and Jiangxi province through intercity routes. There are three railway stations which are located in the urban area of Shanghai, namely Shanghai Railway Station, Shanghai South Railway Station and Shanghai Hongqiao Railway Station, that provide such intercity and hi-speed train routes.

To purchase the railway tickets, passengers would be required to provide valid travel documents containing the passengers' names and other identification information (Home Visit Re-entry Permit for Hong Kong and Macao residents, applicable and valid passports etc.). Passengers may, based on their preferences, choose their desired travel date, time and seats. In order to purchase train tickets, passengers may visit the ticketing offices located at relevant railway stations, via ticketing hotlines (8621-12306), or purchase online via website (Please refer to the website of China Railway Customer Service Center below).

For further information, please refer to the website of the China Railway's Customer Service Center (Chinese Version Only):
http://www.12306.cn/mormhweb/

The China Railway Corporation announced in June 2017 that automatic ticket vending and issuing machines which could read and verify Home Visit Re-entry Permits for Hong Kong and Macao residents had been installed at railway stations in Beijing, Shanghai, Jiangsu, Zhejiang, Fujian, Shandong, Hunan and Guangdong. Hong Kong and Macao compatriots can now purchase and collect tickets with their Home Visit Re-entry Permits at these railway stations which they frequently use. In future, these machines will also be installed at those railway stations which are ready and are heavily used by Hong Kong and Macao compatriots.

The Shanghai Railway Corporation announced on 25 August 2017 that there are a total of 138 automatic ticket vending and issuing machines at 99 railway stations in the Yangtze River Delta region which could read and verify Home Visit Re-entry Permits for Hong Kong and Macao residents. Hong Kong and Macao compatriots can now purchase and collect tickets with their Home Visit Re-entry Permits at these railway stations. For further information, please refer to the announcement of the Shanghai Railway (Chinese Version Only).

Air

The Shanghai Hongqiao International Airport and the Shanghai Pudong International airport serve the aviation needs for Shanghai with cities in China and international cities around the world. The Shanghai Hongqiao International Airport is located at the western suburban area, which is 13 kilometers from the town center. The Shanghai Pudong International Airport is 30 kilometers from the town center and 52 kilometers from the Shanghai Hongqiao International Airport. Shanghai Pudong Internatioanl Airport bears the majority international airlines, also including domestic airlines, while Shanghai Hongqiao International Airport basically is only responsible for domestic airlines in mainland with some partial airlines to Hong Kong, Macao, Taiwan, Japan and Korea.

For further information, please refer to the website of Shanghai Airport Authority:
http://www.shanghaiairport.com

Driving License and buying vehicles

Driving License

Hong Kong residents are required to obtain valid driving licenses if they wish to drive in the Mainland. Drivers should carry their driving licenses while driving. Hong Kong residents who meet relevant conditions promulgated by the Ministry of Public Security (including requirements in age and physical and other conditions, etc.) could apply for driving licenses from traffic management departments.

Hong Kong residents who hold driving licenses issued by relevant authorities of Hong Kong, Macao, Taiwan or other foreign countries could apply for Chinese driving licenses after meeting certain requirements by the Ministry of Public Security (including age, physical and other conditions) and passing the corresponding examination. Moreover, Hong Kong residents who have overseas driving licenses can apply for temporary driving permission from traffic management department of the Ministry of Public Security if they need to drive in the Mainland for a period not exceeding three months.

For more detailed information with respect to applications of driving licenses and temporary driving permissions, please refer to the website of Shanghai Traffic and Safety Information Network:
http://www.shjtaq.com/gzd/gzd.asp

Buying vehicles

In Shanghai, there is a quota system for the purchase of automotive vehicles through an auction system. Any individuals or private enterprises should first obtain a quota of automotive vehicle through the auction before proceeding to the registration procedures for the purchased vehicles. If Hong Kong residents wish to participate at the automotive vehicle quota auction, they should hold a valid Temporary Residence Registration Certificate in Shanghai that is issued by the Shanghai Police Authority and a valid Home Visit Permit for Hong Kong and Macao residents, Resident Identity Card.

For detailed information about the application for license plates, please refer to the website of Shanghai Municipal Transport and Port Authority:
http://www.jt.sh.cn/jtw/bmcx/index.html

中国幅员辽阔,陆地面积约960万平方公里,目前的行政区划为:4个直辖市(北京、上海、天津和重庆),23个省,5个自治区(西藏自治区、新疆维吾尔自治区、内蒙古自治区、宁夏回族自治区和广西壮族自治区),2个特别行政区(香港和澳门特别行政区)。

上海是中国最著名的工商业城市和国际都会,亦为中国的经济、交通、科技、工业、金融、贸易、会展和航运中心。GDP总量居中国城市之首。上海正致力于在2020年建成国际经济中心,国际金融中心、国际航运中心和国际贸易贸易中心。截至2016年,上海市常住人口总数为2419.7万人。上海全市面积6340.5平方公里,设有16个行政区。

气候

中国地域辽阔,各地气候各有特色,差异甚大。如希望了解各地的最新天气情况,可参阅中国气象局网站:
http://www.cma.gov.cn

上海属北亚热带季风性气候,四季分明,日照充分,雨量充沛。上海气候温和湿润,春秋较短,冬夏较长。1月份最冷,平均气温为4.9℃,通常7月份最热,平均气温30.9℃。全年60%以上的雨量集中在6月至9月的汛期。

货币

内地的官方货币为人民币。目前在外流通的纸币面值有1、5、10、20、50、100元及1、2、5角,硬币面值有1角、5角和1元。上海浦东国际机场、上海虹桥国际机场和酒店均提供货币兑换服务。此外,大型银行的各个分行也可以进行货币兑换。

港人在内地生活,除了备有现金外,也可以在内地银行开立个人帐户,并可以申请办理网上银行服务。开立个人银行帐户,一般需要有一个可在内地收取短讯的手提电话及向银行提供以下资料/文件:

  1. 个人身份证件,如护照、港澳居民来往内地通行证(即回乡证)等
  2. 居住地址证明

如有需要,请向各银行查询开立个人帐户的手续和详情。

电压

内地采用公制度量衡,与世界上多数国家一致。

内地的生活用电电压为220伏,在香港购买的电器在内地使用无需转换电压。但须注意的是,内地惯用的电源插头形状与香港不同,在内地使用在香港购买的电器需要使用插头形状转换器。内地惯用的电源插头形状如下图所示:

内地惯用三角插头 内地惯用二角插头

交通

概述

内地机动车、非机动车及行人均实行右侧通行;这与香港采用的“左行制”不同。

两地信号灯的通行规则也略有差异。在内地红灯亮时,右转弯的车辆在不妨碍被放行的车辆、行人通行的情况下,可以通行(但如果红灯不是圆的,而是箭头时,表明红灯亮时,右转弯的车辆不得通行)。在香港红灯亮时,车辆一律不得通行。

在内地各省市驾驶机动车、非机动车及行人,应遵守内地交通规则。

上海的公共交通服务

地铁

目前,上海地铁有15条运营线路。上海地铁实行按乘坐里程计费的分段票价制,即:0-6公里(含6公里)3元,6-16公里(含16公里)4元,16公里以远每10公里增加1元。

欲了解更详细资讯,可参考上海申通地铁集团有限公司网站:
http://www.shmetro.com

上海还建有磁悬浮项目——上海浦东机场线,全场30.5公里,连接地铁龙阳路站和上海浦东国际机场,这也是世界上第一条投入商业运作的磁悬浮铁路。磁悬浮上海浦东机场线采用单一票制,票价50元

欲了解更详细资讯,可参考上海市交通委员会网站:
http://www.jt.sh.cn/jtw/bmcx/index.html

出租车

为方便乘客,上海城市道路内和宾馆饭店、商务中心、医院、居民社区周边等公共场所都设有计程车停车站。乘客还可以通过电话约车、网路约车等方式预约计程车。

上海市计程车实行统一价格标准,3公里以内14元,基本单价为2.5元/公里;另收取低速行驶费、等候费、夜间收费及预约服务费等。

欲了解更详细资讯,可参考上海市交通运委员会网站:
http://www.jt.sh.cn/jtw/bmcx/index.html

网约车

近年内地十分流行网约车,乘客可上网预约或即时要车(包括私家车和一般出租车)。详情可浏览一般搜索网站的介绍。

巴士

上海有覆盖全市的公车运营线路。市内普通公车、空调公车实行单一票价,普通公车,线路长度在13公里以内的线路票价1.00元/人次;线路长度在13公里以外的线路票价1.50元/人次。空调公车单一票价2.00元/人次。郊区普通公车、空调公车实行多级票价,均为1元起价,但普通公车以0.5元进级,空调公车以1元进级。欲了解更详细资讯,可参考上海市交通委员会网站:
http://www.jt.sh.cn/jtw/bmcx/index.html

上海的其他巴士服务包括:

共享单车

近年内地十分流行共享单车,提供自行车时租共享服务。一般而言,不同租车公司的服务使用者须先缴付不同数额的按金才可使用服务,但亦有一些购物平台提供免按金租车服务。详情可浏览一般搜索网站的介绍。

铁路

上海是东部沿海地区最大的铁路枢纽站。上海铁路枢纽地处东南沿海长江中下游地区,线路主要分布在安徽、江苏、浙江、福建、江西五省。上海市区内有三个火车站(包括上海南站、上海火车站、上海虹桥火车站),并与内地多个城市开通城际铁路和高铁。

火车购票实行实名制,旅客须凭有效身份证件(香港居民来往内地通行证、按规定可使用的有效护照等)可以自行选择乘车日期、车次、席别。乘客可以通过车站购票、电话购票(购票热线8621-12306)、网站购票(见下附中国铁路客户服务中心网站连结)等方式购买车票。

欲了解更详细资讯,可参考中国铁路客户服务中心网站:
http://www.12306.cn/mormhweb

中国铁路总公司在2017年6月公布,该公司已在北京、上海、江苏、浙江、福建、山东、湖南、广东等地港澳同胞购、取票流量较大的火车站设置了可识读回乡证的自动售取票设备,方便港澳同胞凭回乡证自助购取票,今后将逐步在所有具备条件的省会城市及港澳旅客客流量较大的车站设置有关自动售取票设备。

上海铁路局在2017年8月25日公布,在长三角地区的99个车站,合共138台自助售取票机已设置了可识读回乡证的功能,方便港澳同胞自助购取票。欲了解更详细资讯,可参阅上海铁路局公布

航空

上海拥有上海虹桥国际机场和上海浦东国际机场两座国际机场。上海虹桥国际机场位于上海市西郊,距市中心仅13千米。上海浦东国际机场距市中心约30公里。距虹桥机场约52公里。上海浦东国际机场承担着大部份国际航线,亦有国内航班,而上海虹桥国际机场基本只有中国大陆国内航线及部分港澳台和日韩等航线。

欲了解更详细资讯,可参考上海机场(集团)有限公司网站:
http://www.shanghaiairport.com

驾驶证与购车

驾驶证

香港居民在内地驾驶机动车,应当依法取得机动车驾驶证。驾驶机动车时,应当随身携带机动车驾驶证。符合国务院公安部门规定的驾驶许可条件(包括年龄、身体条件等)的香港居民,可向公安机关交通管理部门申请机动车驾驶证。

持外国、中国香港、澳门、台湾地区核发的机动车驾驶证的香港居民,符合国务院公安部门规定的驾驶许可条件(包括年龄条件、身体条件等),经公安机关交通管理部门考核合格的,可以发给内地机动车驾驶证。另外,持有境外机动车驾驶证,需临时(即不超过三个月)进入中国内地驾驶机动车的香港居民,可向公安机关交通管理部门申请临时机动车驾驶许可。

欲了解申请驾驶证和临时机动车驾驶许可的更详细信息,可参考上海交通安全信息网网站:
http://www.shjtaq.com/gzd/gzd.asp

购车

上海实行机动车额度拍卖制度,私人、私企机动车额度以投标拍卖的方式获得。取得上海市私人、私企机动车额度指标后,方可办理车辆登记相关手续。香港居民申请参加上海市私人、私企机动车额度投标拍卖必须持有上海市公安机关核发的有效《港澳居民、华侨暂住证》和《来往内地通行证》、《居民身份证》。

欲了解上海市私人、私企机动车额度投标拍卖的更详细资讯,可参考上海交通运输和港口管理局网站:
http://www.jt.sh.cn/jtw/bmcx/index.html