The Hong Kong Economic and Trade Office in Shanghai (SHETO) of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR) was set up in September 2006. It is the third HKSAR Government office set up in the Mainland to foster closer economic and trade links and cooperation, as well as exchanges on other fronts, between the HKSAR and the Mainland. The coverage of SHETO includes the Yangtze River Delta Region and its peripheries, i.e. the Municipality of Shanghai and the four Provinces of Jiangsu, Zhejiang, Anhui and Shandong.

Since its establishment, SHETO has been assuming the role as one of the important bridges between Hong Kong and the Mainland. We keep in close contact with the governments and non-government organisations of the four Provinces and the Municipality of Shanghai, and provide to them information relating to the HKSAR. On the other hand, we also report to the HKSAR Government the latest developments of the Mainland, and promote exchange and co-operation between Hong Kong and the Mainland in the areas of trade, investment and others such as art and culture.

With increasing contacts between the people of Hong Kong and the Mainland, SHETO also organises different kinds of promotional activities to introduce Hong Kong and its latest developments to the people of the four Provinces and Shanghai with a view to enhancing their knowledge and understanding of Hong Kong. In addition, SHETO maintains close liaison with Hong Kong people and Hong Kong organisations in the Mainland, and provides practical assistance to Hong Kong residents in distress in the Mainland.

With a view to strengthening and deepening the liaison and co-operation with Shandong Province and Zhejiang Province, the HKSAR Government subsequently set up the Shandong Liaison Unit and the Zhejiang Liaison Unit under SHETO in Jinan and Hangzhou in April 2015 and April 2017 respectively.