The Hong Kong Economic and Trade Office in Shanghai (the Shanghai Office) of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR) was set up in September 2006. It is the third HKSAR Government office set up in the Mainland to foster closer economic and trade links and cooperation, as well as exchanges on other fronts, between the HKSAR and the Mainland. The coverage of the Shanghai Office includes the Yangtze River Delta Region and its peripheries, i.e. the Municipality of Shanghai and the four Provinces of Jiangsu, Zhejiang, Anhui and Shandong.

Since its establishment, the Shanghai Office has been assuming the role as one of the important bridges between Hong Kong and the Mainland. We keep in close contact with the governments and non-government organisations of the four Provinces and the Municipality of Shanghai, and provide to them information relating to the HKSAR. On the other hand, we also report to the HKSAR Government the latest developments of the Mainland, and promote exchange and co-operation between Hong Kong and the Mainland in the areas of trade, investment and others such as art and culture.

With increasing contacts between the people of Hong Kong and the Mainland, the Shanghai Office also organises different kinds of promotional activities to introduce Hong Kong and its latest developments to the people of the four Provinces and Shanghai with a view to enhancing their knowledge and understanding of Hong Kong. In addition, the Shanghai Office maintains close liaison with Hong Kong people and Hong Kong organisations in the Mainland, and provides practical assistance to Hong Kong residents in distress in the Mainland.

The HKSAR Government has set up in Jinan the Shandong Liaison Unit (SDLU), under the Hong Kong Economic and Trade Office in Shanghai, in April 2015 to further strengthen Government-to-Government liaison, promote exchange and cooperation between Hong Kong and Shandong Province as well as its municipalities on economic and trade and cultural fronts; and provide support to Hong Kong residents and companies to better capitalise on the opportunities brought about by the development of the eastern region.

香港特別行政區政府駐上海經濟貿易辦事處(駐滬辦)於2006年9月成立,是香港特別行政區政府在內地設立的第三個辦事處,目的是進一步加強香港與內地的聯繫。駐滬辦的服務範圍集中於長江三角洲區域及其周邊地帶,即上海市及江蘇、浙江、安徽和山東四省。

自成立以來,駐滬辦一直擔當香港與內地之間的其中一道重要橋樑,我們除了與四省一市的政府和非政府機構緊密聯繫,向它們提供有關特區的資料外,也向特區政府彙報內地的最新發展,並在經貿、投資和其他如文化等範疇促進兩地的交流和合作。

隨著兩地人民交往日趨頻密,駐滬辦也通過舉辦各種宣傳活動,向服務範圍內的四省一市的民眾介紹香港的最新情況和發展,以加深他們對香港的認識和瞭解。此外,駐滬辦亦與在內地的港人和團體保持緊密聯繫,同時也為在內地遇上困難的香港居民提供協助。

特區政府於2015年4月在濟南成立了隸屬於駐滬辦的駐山東聯絡處,以進一步加強政府對政府的聯繫,促進香港特區與山東省及其轄下城市在經貿及文化方面的交流和合作,並協助當地港人港企更好地把握東部地區的發展機遇。